Parkrun 113 – Running on full

My Friday last week got a little out of hand with food. Breakfast, cake club, lunch, team Christmas dinner and my Mrs fancied a Chinese. Perhaps not the best prep for my 113th Parkrun the morning after, though who knows perhaps this is the secret…

Breakfast:

1 Banana

2 Costco Iced Danish pastries

1 Gingerbread latte

Lunch:

1 Bacon and Cheese Beef Burger

1 protein bar

1 wall of a gingerbread house (it is Christmas!)

Works Christmas dinner:

3 breadsticks

Calimari

Pasta stuffed with meat

Cheese board

2nd Dinner:

Egg fried rice

Crispy beef with chilli

Satay chicken skewers x3

Noodles

Chips

Prawn crackers

As I sat on the sofa with a plate full of Chinese food I did wonder how this had happened, 4 meals in a day plus snacks suddenly felt like a weight. Still enjoyed it though!

I got up for Parkrun the next morning tentatively. Feeling a little delicate I was by no means confident that what was to follow would be a comfortable experience. I avoided having anything to eat before I set off and kept the fluids to a few sips.

I was supremely happy to have company joining me. It meant I wouldn’t get dragged into a ridiculous pace again. The focus became getting around and enjoying the run with smiles on our faces. It was a cold morning, so despite the consumption of the last 24 hours the Hot Chocolate at the end was still the prize we both sought.

I was expecting a stitch, stomach cramps, some level of discomfort but none of that emerged. As we progressed steadily around the park I simply felt good. Not laboured in any way. We kept the pace calm and steady, which helped avoid any harsh movements.

Maybe glutinous consumption of food is the secret to a good run, perhaps I was just lucky.

I suspect the latter.

In any case I’m sure the 30 minute run must have burned off Fridays intake allowing the hot chocolate with mountainous cream and festive Marshmallow to be comfortably consumed having properly earned the treat with the mornings efforts!

I’ve always enjoyed my food. My previous weight was evidence of that. I’ve never really wanted to get too hung up on diet. Running regularly as given me the allowance to maintain the consumption of most of the things I love. I run often enough to have lost the excess weight and keep it under control. I’m sure I could be fitter if I also controlled my diet, but where’s the fun in that?

With Christmas just around the corner I am classing this a seasonal training!

Leave a comment